Top 5 Ways Social Media Impacted My Blogging in 2009 - Forum.web.com
Follow Us:
Top 5 Ways Social Media Impacted My Blogging in 2009
21 December 2009

Social Media and BloggingI’ve been blogging personally for quite some time, whether it’s a random thought or an opinion on a timely topic. As an eCommerce professional, I also blog professionally on that topic.

In 2009, social media improved my blogging in many areas: content, search engine optimization, and readership. How, specifically?

1. Twitter Lists Have Organized My Life
    Twitter lists are genius. I’ve always said I think of Twitter lists as cable TV: specialized channels. Or, if you are more audio than visual, thinking of Twitter lists like a playlist will help illustrate how they work.

Since I follow hundreds of people, creating lists on Twitter has made following the stream much more efficient. Aside from organization, one of the top reasons I’ve found myself using Twitter lists is for research. I have my lists organized by the users’ profession or area of specialty, such as website design, social media, eCommerce store owner, national brand, etc. When I have difficulty coming up with an idea for a blog post, I will view its corresponding Twitter stream to see what people in that realm are talking about.

2. Paying Attention Is Key to Fresh Content
    To write well, you must read often. I firmly believe in this philosophy. I read industry blogs and other blogs that spark my interest to keep up with the industry, learn what is already being said, as well as things people try with their blogs that don’t work. The best content covers things that have not already been said, so by reading often, I can find gaps and fill them.
  3. Trend-Spotting Is Not Done at the Mall